Chris James and Patrick Rynn

Chris James and Patrick Rynn

Barrelhouse Stomp

Label: Earwig Music
Digital Release Date: 2013-10-15
Genre: Blues
Subgenre: Chicago Blues
UPC: 888003142831
You’ll never find a blues guitarist who appreciates the integral role of piano in his chosen idiom more than Chris James. That’s why Chris and his musical partner of two decades, bassist Patrick Rynn, named this set Barrelhouse Stomp. Every hard-hitting selection boasts rock-solid piano accompaniment. Chris and Patrick recruited three of the finest blues pianists on the planet—Henry Gray, Aaron Moore, and David Maxwell—to take part in this project. Much like its predecessors, the duo’s third album for Michael Frank’s Earwig label is firmly rooted in traditional Chicago blues. Yet they continue to evolve and take chances in the studio. “I don’t want to keep putting out the same CD,” says Chris. Ensemble playing has always been the cornerstone of the San Diego-based pair’s approach, but there’s an increased emphasis on sizzling solos here. After all, with this all-star lineup of guests, they need space to strut their stuff. In addition to the 88s aces, a pair of Chicago legends, guitarist Jody Williams and tenor saxist Eddie Shaw, are on board.


1. Goodbye, Later for You
2. Just Another Kick in the Teeth
3. I Feel so Good
4. Messin' with White Lightnin'
5. Before It's Too Late
6. A Fact Is a Fact
7. It Always Can Be Worse
8. I'm Gonna Stop Fooling Myself
9. Vicksburg Blues
10. Bobby's Rock
11. Take It Easy (A Tribute to Pinetop Perkins)
12. Last Call Woogie

Other available recordings: